COST Action MP1204

SMMO Conference

The SMMO Conference is a regular event, which started in 2007 and it is devoted to issues important for realization of semiconductor mid-infrared (MIR) emitters and detectors as well as their application for environmental control, medical diagnostics and security.

COST MP1204 Action "Tera-MIR Radiation: Materials, Generation, Detection and Applications" aims to stimulate substantial advances in MIR and THz radiation. It is intended to focus on the development and applications of MIR/THz materials, emitters and detectors and to beneficially exploit their common aspects within a synergetic approach. The conference will be a scientific meeting of the project participants.

The joint event is based on progress reports from the Working Groups (WGs) of COST ACTION MP1204 and is complemented by contributions from members external to the ACTION. The sessions are open to all participants, promoting a unique opportunity to share experience and discuss a wide range of subjects related to both MIR and THz optoelectronic devices. All participants are stimulated to propose new joint projects and to bring proposal outlines if they are searching for proposal submission partners, notably to Horizon 2020.

The general areas covered by the events are:
  1. Intersubband materials and devices with applications to fingerprint spectroscopy

  2. Metamaterials, photonic crystals and new functionalities

  3. Nonlinearities and interaction of radiation with matter including biomaterials

  4. Generation and Detection based on Nitrides and Bismides



Organizer* of both conferences is the
Institute of Photonics and Electronics, The Czech Academy of Sciences

Co-organizer is MPNS COST Action MP1204, Tera-MIR Radiation: Materials, Generation, Detection and Applications.

* A Local Organiser as defined by COST.

Conference Chair:
Mauro Pereira (United Kingdom)

Conference Co-chairs:
Pavel Honzátko (Czech Republic),
Marian Marciniak (Poland),
Maciej Bugajski (Poland).

Mauro Pereira (United Kingdom),
Roberto Morandotti (Canada),
Hynek Němec (Czech Republic),
Christelle Kadlec (Czech Republic),
Anna Sitek (Iceland),
Anna Szerling (Poland),
Marcin Motyka (Poland),
Gaetano Scamarcio (Italy),
Shumin Wang (Sweden),
Arūnas Krotkus (Lithuania),
Anna Wójcik-Jedlińska (Poland).

Filip Todorov (Czech Republic),
Pavel Peterka (Czech Republic),
Eduard Hulicius (Czech Republic),
Mauro Pereira (United Kingdom),
Anna Wójcik-Jedlińska (Poland),
Emilia Pruszyńska-Karbownik (Poland),
Antoine Muller (Switzerland),
Andreas Wacker (Sweden),
Ivan Buchvarov (Bulgaria),
Johan Stiens (Belgium),
Florin Mihailescu (Romania),
Czeslaw Skierbiszewski (Poland),
Shumin Wang (Sweden).